DIY: Healing Face Mask and Sugar Scrub

IMG_1056
From Left to Right: Sugar Scrub and Calming Face Mask

Healing Face Mask

1 tbsp Honey

1tsp Nutmeg

1/2 tsp Vitamin E Oil

I almost never actually measure out the ingredients for this mask, just eyeball the ratios and save yourself from washing the measuring spoons!

  • Mix ingredients together – to form a thick paste. I do this right in the container I’m planning to store it in.
  • Wet your face – (or do a face steam!) to open your pores and increase the honey’s spreadability on our skin. If your skin isn’t already clean, clean it NOW!
  • Spread the mask on your skin – using your fingers or the back of a spoon. I find that the spoon helps combat the stickiness of the honey.
  • Let it sit – for as long as you can stand having a sticky mess on your face. Taking the pictures for this post with this mask on my face was difficult, and I think there is a little bit of stickiness in my viewfinder! This mask is so soothing and not at all drying. Therefore, there is no limit to how long you can keep it on or how often you can apply it.
  • Wipe it off with a washcloth using small circular motions so as to harness the exfoliating powers of the nutmeg! Sometimes I rub my face in circles with my hands intermittently while wearing the mask for extra exfoliating opportunities.
  • Follow with some toner, moisturizer, etc. Whatever you put on after you wash your face.

This mask is THE BEST thing I’ve ever done for my skin! I absolutely love that it never feels harsh or drying on my skin like many clay masks. Sometimes I slather it on after another more powerful mask to reduce redness or irritation.

For a wordier post and more info about the healing properties of the ingredients check out my source for this mask here.


Exfoliating Sugar Scrub

IMG_1044

As much Sugar as you would like to make of this scrub

Olive oil

A few drops of the Essential Oils of your choice (I used Lavender)

  • Put the sugar in a bowl and add olive oil in small amounts until all the sugar is just sticking together. It it not necessary to use a lot of oil in this recipe.
  • Add your essential oils and stir again.
  • Transfer to a storage container.
  • Use in the bath or shower to exfoliate your skin. I would consider this scrub too harsh for the face but wonderful for the legs, arms and shoulders. This scrub is great to use before shaving because it is removes the dead skin cells and lets you get a closer shave. If it’s been a while, I like to shave once, use the scrub, and then do a quick once over with the razor again. Also, the oil in this scrub makes it lightly moisturizing, which is a wonderful bonus.

This scrub (and the mask) make great little gifts too! Just pack some in mini mason jars, garnish with a homemade label and some raffia, and BAM!

Enjoy!!!

Leave a Reply

